Mapping

A format-independent interface is available for the data transfer between the models of the process and structure simulations in the discontinuous fiber and continuous fiber range. The scheme of data transfer between the models of two simulation steps is illustrated in the figure below. For each element of the source mesh, raw information (in the form of fiber orientations, layer thicknesses, fiber volume contents, ply numbers, etc.) is available, which is transferred to the elements of the target mesh. A format-independent interface is available, which is vendor-neutral and can be used by different tools (e.g. ABAQUS, Moldflow, PAM-RTM, OpenFoam). On the one hand, this means that the exchange format (data format and data structure) of the information to be transferred must be uniform. On the other hand, the mapping algorithm used to transfer the information from one finite element or finite volume mesh to the next has to be robust and applicable for the data and model types to be transferred.

Figure 1:  Mapping process for transferring process simulation results to subsequent simulation steps. [2].

 

A data structure in VTK ASCII format is used as exchange format. In addition to the fiber composite specific material data (e.g. fiber orientations) to be transferred, the VTK data structure also contains geometry information (nodes, elements) to enable the transfer between different types and sizes of meshes. As mapping software MpCCI MapLib from Fraunhofer SCAI is applied. The mapping library MapLib provides a variety of methods to transfer physical quantities between simulation models with different meshes. As the computational core of the MpCCI code coupling environment, it is designed to efficiently process the largest computational models. Users can also extend their own CAE environments with MapLib. For us, there is also the possibility to extend the mapping library for fiber composite specific requirements in cooperation with Fraunhofer SCAI, and thus to specifically further develop CAE chains for long and continuous fiber composites.

 

Reference:

 [1] Kärger, L.; Schön, A.; Fritz, F.; Böhler, P.; Magagnato, D.; Fischer, S.; Henning, F.: “Aufbau einer durchgängigen CAE-Kette durch Verknüpfung von Drapier-, Formfüll- und Struktursimulation zur ganzheitlichen Bewertung von Bauteilen aus Hochleistungsfaserverbunden “. In: A. Wanner, K. A. Weidenmann, Verbundwerkstoffe und Werkstoffverbunde 2013 Proceedings, ISBN 978-3-00-042309-3 Titel anhand dieser ISBN in Citavi-Projekt übernehmen, pp. 568-573, 2013.

[2] Kärger, L.; Bernath, A.; Fritz, F.; Galkin, S.; Magagnato, D.; Oeckerath, A.; Schön, A.; Henning, F.: Development and validation of a CAE chain for unidirectional fibre reinforced composite components. Composite Structures 132: 350–358, 2015. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.compstruct.2015.05.047

[3] Kärger, L.; Galkin, S.; Zimmerling, C.; Dörr, D.; Schirmaier, FJ.; Oeckerath, A.; Wolf, K.; Linden, J.: Con-tinuous CAE chain for composite design, established on an HPC system and accessible via web-based user-interfaces. Proceedings of NAFEMS World Congress, Stockholm, 2017.

[4] Kärger, L.; Galkin, S.; Zimmerling, C.; Dörr, D.; Linden, J.; Oeckerath, A.; Wolf, K.: Forming optimisation embedded in a CAE chain to assess and enhance the structural performance of composite components. Composite Structures 192: 143-152, 2018. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.compstruct.2018.02.041

[5] Hohberg, M.; Kärger, L.; Hrymak, A.; Henning, F.: Prozesssimulation von Sheet Molding Compound (SMC) als Schlüssel zur integrierten Simulationskette. NAFEMS Magazin 42: 49-56, ISSN 2311-522X, 2017

Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Fakultät Maschinenbau | KIT

Mapping

Für den Datentransfer zwischen den Modellen der Prozess- und Struktursimulationen im Langfaser- und Endlosfaserbereich steht eine formatunabhängige Schnittstelle zur Verfügung. Das Schema des Datentransfers zwischen den Modellen zweier Simulationsschritte ist in der untenstehenden Abbildung dargestellt. Für jedes Element des Quell-Netzes sind Rohinformationen (in Form von Faserorientierungen, Schichtdicken, Faservolumengehalten, Lagennummern u. a.) vorhanden, die auf die Elemente des Ziel-Netzes übertragen werden. Für diese Übertragung ist es wichtig, dass eine formatunabhängige Schnittstelle zur Verfügung steht, die von der Software (z.B. ABAQUS, Moldflow, PAM-RTM, OpenFoam) und vom Datenformat der einzelnen Simulationsschritte unabhängig ist. Dies bedeutet zum einen, dass das Austauschformat (Datenformat und Datenstruktur) der zu transferierenden Informationen einheitlich sein muss. Zum anderen muss der Mapping-Algorithmus, mit dem die Informationen von einem auf das nächste Finite-Elemente- oder Finite-Volumen-Netz übertragen werden, robust und anwendbar sein für die zu transferierenden Daten und Modellarten.
 

Abb. 1: Mapping-Prozess zur Übertragung von Prozesssimulationsergebnissen auf nachfolgende Simulationsschritte [2].
 

Als Austauschformat wird eine Datenstruktur im VTK-ASCII-Format verwendet. Die vtk Datenstruktur enthält neben den zu transferierenden faserverbundspezifischen Materialdaten (z.B. Faserorientierungen) auch Netzdaten (Knoten, Elemente), um den Transfer zwischen verschiedenartigen Netzen zu ermöglichen. Als Mapping-Software wird MpCCI MapLib von Fraunhofer SCAI eingesetzt. Die Mapping-Bibliothek MapLib bietet eine Vielzahl von Methoden zur Übertragung physikalischer Größen zwischen Simulationsmodellen mit unterschiedlichen Netzen. Sie ist als Rechenkern der Code-Kopplungsumgebung MpCCI darauf ausgelegt, größte Rechenmodelle effizient zu verarbeiten. Anwender können mit MapLib auch ihre eigenen CAE-Umgebungen erweitern. Für uns besteht zudem die Möglichkeit, in Zusammenarbeit mit Fraunhofer SCAI die Mapping-Bibliothek für faserverbundspezifische Anforderungen zu erweitern, und damit die CAE-Ketten für Lang- und Endlosfaserverbunde gezielt weiterzuentwickeln.

[1] Kärger, L.; Schön, A.; Fritz, F.; Böhler, P.; Magagnato, D.; Fischer, S.; Henning, F.: “Aufbau einer durchgängigen CAE-Kette durch Verknüpfung von Drapier-, Formfüll- und Struktursimulation zur ganzheitlichen Bewertung von Bauteilen aus Hochleistungsfaserverbunden “. In: A. Wanner, K. A. Weidenmann, Verbundwerkstoffe und Werkstoffverbunde 2013 Proceedings, ISBN 978-3-00-042309-3, pp. 568-573, 2013.

[2] Kärger, L.; Bernath, A.; Fritz, F.; Galkin, S.; Magagnato, D.; Oeckerath, A.; Schön, A.; Henning, F.: Development and validation of a CAE chain for unidirectional fibre reinforced composite components. Composite Structures 132: 350–358, 2015. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.compstruct.2015.05.047

[3] Kärger, L.; Galkin, S.; Zimmerling, C.; Dörr, D.; Schirmaier, FJ.; Oeckerath, A.; Wolf, K.; Linden, J.: Con-tinuous CAE chain for composite design, established on an HPC system and accessible via web-based user-interfaces. Proceedings of NAFEMS World Congress, Stockholm, 2017.

[4] Kärger, L.; Galkin, S.; Zimmerling, C.; Dörr, D.; Linden, J.; Oeckerath, A.; Wolf, K.: Forming optimisation embedded in a CAE chain to assess and enhance the structural performance of composite components. Composite Structures 192: 143-152, 2018. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.compstruct.2018.02.041

[5] Hohberg, M.; Kärger, L.; Hrymak, A.; Henning, F.: Prozesssimulation von Sheet Molding Compound (SMC) als Schlüssel zur integrierten Simulationskette. NAFEMS Magazin 42: 49-56, ISSN 2311-522X, 2017