Vector Stiftungs-YIG "Green Mobility"

Research Focuses

Lighter vehicle structures enable more environmentally friendly mobility. The weight of load-bearing components can be significantly reduced by using high-performance fiber-reinforced composites (HPFRPs). However, load-bearing FRP components can only be designed with optimized weight if the anisotropy of the fibers is fully exploited and if the influences of manufacturing on material behavior are correctly identified and taken into account. To increase the simulability of HL-FRP, YIG is dedicated to the following research topics:

  • Development of end-to-end CAE chains. In the course of the global trend of digitalization, end-to-end CAE chains and digital twins are a clear competitive advantage in product development. The challenge lies primarily in the combination of efficient overall product consideration (for industrial applicability) and necessary detail modeling.
  • Forming simulation of semi-finished fiber products. YIG has achieved international visibility with its forming simulation methods. Current research topics concern the macroscopic detection of mesoscopic effects of fiber layups, the forming and compacting behavior of thick semi-finished products and the forming behavior under simultaneous infiltration in wet pressing processes.
  • Mold filling processes with fiber-matrix interaction and hybridization. Process-inherent interactions between fibers and matrix flow are a challenge for simulation. YIG is at the forefront of simulating the wet pressing process, mold filling of sandwich structures with fluid-structure interaction, and cross-scale simulation of RTM, injection molding, and impact extrusion processes. Current research topics additionally concern the simulation of additive manufacturing processes as well as the simulation of hybrid processes, with a special focus on warpage and residual stresses.
  • Structural simulation of fiber composite components. In structure simulation, YIG's research focus is on the influence of manufacturing effects. Multiscale simulations are performed to investigate the influence of fiber structure on rate-dependent material behavior. In DFG-SPP 1897, models for hybrid composite-elastomer-metal laminates are developed, including higher order shell formulations. 
  • Process and structural optimization for lightweight products. In addition to taking manufacturing effects into account, the CAE chain enables optimization over several simulation steps. However, highly accurate simulation methods are generally too costly for product optimization. AI methods, physics-based approximation methods or a combination of both (black-, white-, grey-box models) can be used to increase efficiency. In the YIG, surrogate-based optimization approaches (SBO) for forming processes and methods for rapid process evaluation are developed.

 

Members of the Vector Foundation YIG "Green Mobility"

YIG-Leiterin:  Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger
Research assistants in forming simulation:
M.Sc. Christian Poppe,  M.Sc. Bastian Schäfer
Research assistants in mold filling simulation:
M.Sc. Nils MeyerM.Sc. Florian WittemannM.Sc. Louis SchreyerM.Sc. Felix FrölichM.Sc. BhimeshM.Sc.Sarah DietrichM.Ed. Nik Poppe
Research assistants in structural simulation and curing:
M.Sc. Alexander JackstadtM.Sc. Shubham Gorde
Research assistants in CAE chain and structural and process optimization:
Dipl.-Ing. Clemens ZimmerlingM.Sc. Constantin Krauß

 


Former members of the Vector Foundation-YIG "Green Mobility"

Dr.-Ing. Fabian Schirmaier
Dr.-Ing. Dominik Naake (externer Doktorand bei Bosch)
Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Fengler 
Dr.-Ing. Dominik Dörr
Dr.-Ing. Julian Seuffert
Dr.-Ing. Siegfried Galkin

 

Current projects of the YIG

  • DFG HyCEML "Hybrid CFRP / elastomer / metal laminates with elastomer layers for targeted adjustment of damping behavior", DFG project in the priority program "Calm, Smooth & Smart" (SPP 1897).
  • DFG IRTG: Subproject on process simulation and optimization in the international research training group GRK2078 CoDiCoFRP "Integrated engineering of continuous-discontinuous long fiber reinforced polymer structures".
  • DFG MerVa "Method and process development for infiltration of highly loadable topology-optimized fiber-plastic composite components with variable-axis fiber architecture."
  • BMBF/PTJ-TraCLight Cost- and resource-efficient production of fiber composite-matellite hybrid structures using the wetprexx process (hyWet - subproject C)
  • DFG AMECOMP "Composite forming simulation for non-crimp fabrics based on generalized continuum approaches"
  • KIT Future Fields Projekt Hybrid2PaM
  • Lite2Duro
  • HEaK
  • EcoDynamicSMC
  • Working with young talent: Lightweight summer workshop for schoolgirls

 

Abgeschlossene Projekte der YIG

  • KIT-MathSEE
  • EU ITEA-VMAP: Subproject on high-performance fiber composites in the VMAP project "Virtual Material Modelling in Manufacturing"
  •  
  • MWK Forschungsbrücke KIT - Uni Stuttgart: Time- and cost-efficient product development for high-performance lightweight fiber composite construction using wet-press technology
  • DFG-Projekt "Experimental and virtual analysis of drape effects and their effects on the structural mechanical behavior of fiber composite components."
  • KraSchwing: Optimization of force application in vibration loaded fiber composite structures, funded by MFW-BW and MWK-BW
  • BMBF SMiLE "Multi-material lightweight construction for electromobility": method development for simulating the drape behavior of UD tape structures. Awarded as BMBF lighthouse project for electromobility.
  • EU-Fortissimo: Integrated Design Workflow for the Manufacturing and Produkt Simulation of high-performance Composite Structures
  • III-D-Preforming „Intelligent, Innovativ, Interdisziplinär“, sponsored by MWK-BW and Dieffenbacher GmbH
  • TC²-RTM CAE/CAx: End-to-end CAE chain for the RTM process
  • Cooperation with Bosch: Promotion of damage formulation for continuous fiber reinforced thermoplastics

 

Extension of the Young Investigator Group (YIG) for another three years

In the fall of 2017, Dr. Luise Kärger's Young Investigator Group "Green Mobility" was evaluated by the Council for Research and Promotion of Young Scientists (CRYS) and rated as "extraordinarily successful". As a result, the Vector Foundation has agreed to extend funding for the YIG until the end of 2021. The focus of the work in the following three years will continue to be the development of methods for forming and structure simulation of fiber composites. Extensions to combined forming and mold filling simulation, 3D shell modeling, economies of scale in manufacturing-related damage behavior, optimization approaches with machine learning methods and other topics are planned.

 

For the First Time, a Young Investigator Group (YIG) at KIT is Funded by the Vector Foundation

Under the guiding principle of "Green Mobility", Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger was awarded funding by the Vector Foundation for the research topic "Weight-optimized vehicle structures using tailored high-performance fiber composites".
Dr. Kärger will thus head the junior research group "Green Mobility" at the Chair of Lightweight Construction Technology from July 1, 2014. After the YIG "Hybrid Lightweight Construction" of PD Dr.-Ing Kay Weidenmann, which was funded by the Excellence Initiative in the years 2007-2011, a second junior research group is thus dedicated to the research field of lightweight construction.

Support of the YIG by the Vector Foundation

We would like to express our sincere thanks to the Vector Foundation for supporting the Young Investigator Group. The foundation was established in 2011 by the founders of Vector Informatik GmbH, Eberhard Hinderer, Martin Litschel and Dr. Helmut Schelling. The foundation's purposes are the sustainability of research as well as social commitment. Talent is supported through the promotion of young scientists, scholarships, research projects and endowed professorships. A focus is placed on the topic of environmentally friendly and sustainable mobility.

Our thanks also go to the KIT Foundation, which provides us with the funds from the Vector Foundation donations and whose fundraising activities made the YIG possible in the first place.

Vector Stiftungs-YIG "Green Mobility"

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Leichtere Fahrzeugstrukturen ermöglichen umweltfreundlichere Mobilität. Durch den Einsatz von Hochleistungs-Faserverbundkunststoffen (HL-FVK) lässt sich das Gewicht tragender Bauteile erheblich reduzieren. Tragende FVK-Bauteile können aber nur dann gewichtsoptimiert ausgelegt werden, wenn die Anisotropie der Fasern voll ausgenutzt wird und wenn die Einflüsse der Herstellung auf das Materialverhalten richtig erkannt und berücksichtigt werden. Um die Simulierbarkeit von HL-FVK zu erhöhen, widmet sich die YIG den folgenden Forschungsthemen:
  • Entwicklung durchgängiger CAE-Ketten. Im Zuge des globalen Trends der Digitalisierung sind durchgängige CAE-Ketten und digitale Zwillinge ein klarer Wettbewerbsvorteil bei der Produktentwicklung. Die Herausforderung liegt vor allem in der Kombination aus effizienter Produkt-Gesamtbetrachtung (für industrielle Anwendbarkeit) und notwendiger Detailmodellierung.
  • Umformsimulation von Faserhalbzeugen. Mit den Umformsimulationsmethoden hat die YIG internationale Sichtbarkeit erreicht. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen betreffen die makroskopische Erfassung mesoskopischer Effekte von Fasergelegen, das Umform- und Kompaktierverhalten dicker Halbzeuge und das Umformverhalten unter gleichzeitiger Infiltration im Nasspressverfahren.
  • Formfüllprozesse mit Faser-Matrix-Interaktion und Hybridisierung. Prozessinhärente Wechselwirkungen zwischen Fasern und Matrixströmung sind eine Herausforderung für die Simulation. Bei der Simulation des Nasspressverfahrens, der Formfüllung von Sandwichstrukturen mit Fluid-Struktur-Interaktion und der skalenübergreifend Simulation von RTM-, Spritzguss- und Fließpressprozessen kommt der YIG eine Vorreiterrolle zu. Aktuelle Forschungsthemen betreffen zusätzlich die Simulation additiver Fertigungsprozesse sowie die Simulation hybrider Prozesse, mit besonderem Fokus auf Verzug und Eigenspannungen.
  • Struktursimulation von Faserverbundbauteilen. Bei der Struktursimulation liegt der Forschungsfokus der YIG auf dem Einfluss von Fertigungseffekten. Um den Einfluss der Faserstruktur auf das ratenabhängige Materialverhalten zu untersuchen, werden Multiskalensimulationen durchgeführt. Im DFG-SPP 1897 werden Modelle für hybride Composite-Elastomer-Metall-Laminate entwickelt, u.a. mit Schalenformulierungen höherer Ordnung. 
  • Prozess- und Strukturoptimierung für Leichtbauprodukte. Zusätzlich zur Berücksichtigung von Fertigungseffekten ermöglicht die CAE-Kette eine Optimierung über mehrere Simulationsschritte. Für die Produktoptimierung sind hochgenaue Simulationsmethoden jedoch i. Allg. zu aufwendig. Zur Effizienzsteigerung können KI-Methoden, physikalisch-basierte Approximationsmethoden oder eine Kombination aus beiden (black-, white-, grey-box Modelle) eingesetzt werden. In der YIG werden Surrogat-basierte Optimierungsansätze (SBO) für Umformprozesse und Methoden zur schnellen Prozessbewertung entwickelt.

 

Mitglieder der Vector Stiftungs-YIG "Green Mobility"

YIG-Leiterin:  Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter im Bereich Umformsimulation:
M.Sc. Christian Poppe,  M.Sc. Bastian Schäfer
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter im Bereich Formfüllsimulation:
M.Sc. Nils Meyer, M.Sc. Florian Wittemann, M.Sc. Louis Schreyer, M.Sc. Felix Frölich, M.Sc. Bhimesh, M.Sc.Sarah Dietrich, M.Ed. Nik Poppe
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter im Bereich Struktursimulation und Aushärtung:
M.Sc. Alexander Jackstadt, M.Sc. Shubham Gorde
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter im Bereich CAE-Kette sowie Struktur- und Prozessoptimierung:
Dipl.-Ing. Clemens Zimmerling, M.Sc. Constantin Krauß

 


Ehemalige Mitglieder der Vector Stiftungs-YIG "Green Mobility"

Dr.-Ing. Fabian Schirmaier
Dr.-Ing. Dominik Naake (externer Doktorand bei Bosch)
Dr.-Ing. Benedikt Fengler 
Dr.-Ing. Dominik Dörr
Dr.-Ing. Julian Seuffert
Dr.-Ing. Siegfried Galkin

 

Laufende Projekte der YIG

  • DFG HyCEML „Hybride CFK / Elastomer / Metall-Laminate mit Elastomerschichten für die gezielte Einstellung des Dämpfungsverhaltens“, DFG-Projekt im Schwerpunktprogramm "Calm, Smooth & Smart" (SPP 1897)
  • DFG IRTG: Teilprojekt zur Prozesssimulation und Optimierung im internationalen Graduiertenkolleg GRK2078 CoDiCoFRP "Integrated engineering of continous-discontinous long fiber reinforced polymer structures"
  • DFG MerVa "Methoden- und Prozessentwicklung zur Infiltration hochbelastbarer topologieoptimierter Faser-Kunststoff-Verbundbauteile mit variabelaxialer Faserarchitektur"
  • BMBF/PTJ-TraCLight "Leichtbau BW: Kosten- und ressourceneffiziente Fertigung von Faserverbund-Matell-Hybridstrukturen im nassprexxverfahren (hyWet - Teilvorhaben C)
  • DFG AMECOMP "Composite forming simulation for non-crimp fabrics based on generalized continuum approaches"
  • KIT Future Fields Projekt Hybrid2PaM
  • Lite2Duro
  • HEaK
  • EcoDynamicSMC
  • Nachwuchsarbeit: Leichtbau-Sommerworkshop für Schülerinnen

 

Abgeschlossene Projekte der YIG

  • KIT-MathSEE
  • EU ITEA-VMAP: Teilprojekt zu Hochleistungsfaserverbunden im Projekt VMAP "Virtual Material Modelling in Manufacturing"
  • MWK Forschungsbrücke KIT - Uni Stuttgart: Zeit- und kosteneffiziente Produktentwicklung für den Hochleistungs-Faserverbundleichtbau mittels Nasspresstechnologie
  • DFG-Projekt „Experimentelle und virtuelle Analyse von Drapiereffekten und deren Auswirkungen auf das strukturmechanische Verhalten von Faserverbundkomponenten“
  • KraSchwing: Optimierung der Krafteinleitung in schwingbelasteten Faserverbundstrukturen, gefördert durch MFW-BW und MWK-BW
  • BMBF SMiLE "Multi-Material-Leichtbau für die Elektromobilität": Methodenentwicklung zur Simulation des Drapierverhaltens von UD-Tapestrukturen. Ausgezeichnet als BMBF-Leuchtturmprojekt der Elektromobilität
  • EU-Fortissimo: Integrated Design Workflow for the Manufacturing and Produkt Simulation of high-performance Composite Structures
  • III-D-Preforming „Intelligent, Innovativ, Interdisziplinär“, gefördert durch das MWK-BW und die Dieffenbacher GmbH
  • TC²-RTM CAE/CAx: Durchgängige CAE-Kette für das RTM-Verfahren
  • Kooperation mit Bosch: Promotion zur Schädigungsformulierung für endlosfaserverstärkte Thermoplaste

 

Verlängerung der Young Investigator Group (YIG) um weitere drei Jahre

Im Herbst 2017 wurde die Young Investigator Group „Green Mobility“ von Frau Dr. Luise Kärger durch das Council for Research and Promotion of Young Scientistis (CRYS) evaluiert und mit „außerordentlichem Erfolg“ bewertet. Die Vector Stiftung hat daraufhin eine Verlängerung der Förderung der YIG bis Ende 2021 zugesagt. Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten der folgenden drei Jahre wird weiterhin die Methodenentwicklung für Umform- und Struktursimulation von Faserverbunden sein. Dabei sind Erweiterungen zur kombinierten Umform- und Formfüllsimulation, zu 3D-Schalenmodellierungen, zu Skaleneffekten bei fertigungsbedingtem Schädigungsverhalten, zu Optimierungsansätzen mit Maschinenlernmethoden und zu weiteren Themen geplant.

 

Erstmals wird am KIT eine Young Investigator Group (YIG) durch die Vector Stiftung gefördert

Unter dem Leitgedanken „Green Mobility“ erhielt Frau Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger für das Forschungsthema „Gewichtsoptimierte Fahrzeugstrukturen durch maßgeschneiderte Hochleistungsfaserverbunde“ den Zuschlag für die Förderung durch die Vector Stiftung.
Frau Dr. Kärger leitet somit ab 1. Juli 2014 die Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe „Green Mobility“ am Lehrstuhl für Leichtbautechnologie. Nach der YIG „Hybrider Leichtbau“ von PD Dr.-Ing Kay Weidenmann, die in den Jahren 2007-2011 aus Mitteln der Exzellenzinitiative gefördert wurde, widmet sich damit eine zweite Nachwuchsgruppe dem Forschungsgebiet Leichtbau.

Förderung der YIG durch die Vector Stiftung

Für die Förderung der Young Investigator Group bedanken wir uns herzlich bei der Vector Stiftung. Die Stiftung wurde 2011 von den Firmengründern der Vector Informatik GmbH, Eberhard Hinderer, Martin Litschel und Dr. Helmut Schelling, gegründet. Stiftungszwecke sind die Nachhaltigkeit der Forschung sowie soziales Engagement. Durch die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses, durch Stipendien, Forschungsprojekte und Stiftungsprofessuren werden Talente unterstützt. Dabei wird ein Schwerpunkt auf das Thema umweltfreundliche und nachhaltige Mobilität gelegt.

Unser herzlicher Dank gilt auch der KIT-Stiftung, die uns die Mittel aus den Spenden der Vector Stiftung bereitstellt und deren Fundraisingaktivitäten die YIG überhaupt möglich gemacht haben.