Programming in CAE applications (PiCAE)

Workshop during the semester



The development of components supported by numerical simulations, e.g. by means of the finite element method (FEM), has become an indispensable part of modern engineering. They allow a virtual evaluation of different component variants and thus contribute to an efficient development. For the correct use of CAE methods and for the generation of reliable simulation results, knowledge of methodological backgrounds as well as a goal-oriented approach to model construction & simulation evaluation are indispensable. Recurring problems can be solved efficiently & automatically by programming sequence and evaluation scripts. The investigation of modern material systems such as continuous fiber reinforced plastics represents an additional challenge. For these complex materials there is often a lack of commercially available methods, which is why the implementation of own material models by suitable subroutines is increasingly necessary.
In this workshop, students learn about the everyday work of computational engineers. Step by step, the fundamentals of the finite element method are worked out using practical examples in Abaqus as well as typical procedures for model creation and evaluation. Building on this, basic knowledge of script programming in Python and the implementation of material models in Fortran subroutines is imparted. The aim of the course is to illustrate the contents in an application-oriented manner through a combination of lectures, guided lecture hall exercises and solving semester-long project tasks in small groups.
Contents:
  • Fundamentals of FE structure simulation with anisotropic materials using the example of continuous fiber reinforced plastics (ABAQUS).
  • Automated model construction and evaluation with PYTHON
  • Efficient evaluation of the result quality of FE simulations
  • Derivation of measures for the improvement of the structural load-bearing capacity
  • User-defined material modeling (FORTRAN subroutines)


Lecturer: Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger (FAST-LBT)
Language:

German


Period:

Winter semester


Success control:

Testate + final project (ungraded).

Optional: oral examination (graded)

Number of participants: Limited(probably 21 students)
Effort:

The workload for the course is 120 h per semester and consists of attendance in the lectures (21 h), working on exercises and tests at home (60 h) and carrying out a final project (39 h). This results in 2 SWS and 4 LP.

Recommendations for prior knowledge:
  • Basics of the finite element method (ideally with Abaqus).
  • Basic knowledge of continuum mechanics
  • Basics of programming
  • Basic knowledge of fibre reinforced plastics


Registration PiCAE

*
*
*
*
*
*
*

* required fields

Programmieren in CAE-Anwendungen (PiCAE)

Semesterbegleitendes Praktikum

 
 
Die Entwicklung von Bauteilen unterstützt durch numerische Simulationen, etwa mittels Finite-Elemente-Methode (FEM), ist aus der modernen Ingenieursarbeit nicht mehr wegzudenken. Sie erlauben eine virtuelle Bewertung verschiedener Bauteilvarianten und tragen so zu einer effizienten Entwicklung bei. Für den korrekten Einsatz von CAE-Methoden und zur Erzeugung verlässlicher Simulationsergebnisse sind Kenntnisse über methodische Hintergründe sowie eine zielorientierte Vorgehensweise bei Modellaufbau & Simulationsauswertung unerlässlich. Dabei lassen sich durch die Programmierung von Ablauf- und Auswerteskripten wiederkehrende Problemstellungen effizient & automatisiert lösen. Die Untersuchung moderner Materialsysteme wie beispielsweise endlosfaserverstärkten Kunstoffen stellt eine zusätzliche Herausforderung dar. Für diese komplexen Werkstoffe mangelt es häufig an kommerziell verfügbaren Methoden, weshalb die Implementierung eigener Materialmodelle durch geeignete Subroutinen zunehmend erforderlich ist.
In diesem Workshop lernen die Studierenden alltägliche Arbeitsinhalte von Berechnungsingenieuren/-innen kennen. Schrittweise werden die Grundlagen der Finite-Elemente-Methode an praxisnahen Beispielen in Abaqus sowie typische Abläufe bei der Modellerstellung und Auswertung erarbeitet. Darauf aufbauend werden grundlegende Kenntnisse der Skript-Programmierung in Python und der Implementierung von Materialmodellen in Fortran-Subroutinen vermittelt. Ziel der Veranstaltung ist die anwendungsnahe Veranschaulichung der Inhalte durch eine Kombination aus Vorlesungen, begleiteten Hörsaalübungen und dem Lösen von semesterbegleitenden Projektaufgaben in Kleingruppen.
Inhalte:
  • Grundlagen FE-Struktursimulation mit anisotropen Materialien am Beispiel endlosfaserverstärkter Kunststoffe (ABAQUS)
  • Automatisierter Modellaufbau und Auswertung mit PYTHON
  • Effiziente Bewertung der Ergebnisgüte von FE-Simulationen
  • Ableitung von Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Strukturtragfähigkeit
  • Benutzerdefinierte Materialmodellierung (FORTRAN-Subroutinen)

 

Dozenten: Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger (FAST-LBT)
Sprache:

Deutsch

Zeitraum:

Wintersemester

Erfolgskontrolle:

Testate + Abschluss-Projekt (unbenotet)

Optional: mündliche Prüfung (benotet)

Teilnehmerzahl:  Beschränkt (voraussichtlich 21 Studierende)
Aufwand:

Der Arbeitsaufwand für die Veranstaltung beträgt pro Semester 120 h und besteht aus Präsenz in den Veranstaltungen (21 h), Bearbeitung von Übungsaufgaben und Testaten zuhause (60 h) und Durchführung eines Abschluss-Projektes (39 h). Daraus resultieren 2 SWS und 4 LP. 

Empfehlungen als Vorwissen:
  • Grundlagen der Finiten-Elemente-Methode (optimalerweise mit Abaqus) 
  • Grundkenntnisse der Kontinuumsmechanik
  • Grundlagen der Programmierung
  • Grundlegende Kenntnisse über faserverstärkte Kunststoffe

 

Anmeldung PiCAE

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Bisherige Schwerpunkte (Bachelor und Master), Veranstaltungen, o.ä.

* markiert Pflichtfelder