Internship "Lightweight design" at KIT for 10th graders

BildFAST-LBT
Topic

Increased environmental awareness and scarcity of resources combined with high demands for safety and comfort result in a conflict of goals for future mobility. An important contribution to reconciling these requirements lies in the weight reduction of load-bearing components - a core idea of lightweight construction.

Ideally, the component design makes optimum use of the mechanical material properties and can also be manufactured easily and without defects. Successfully combining these three fields is an extremely complex task and requires competencies from various engineering disciplines.

The aim of the internship week "Lightweight Construction" is to familiarize students with the specifics and interaction of the engineering competencies involved. In each subject area, the participants work independently on a technical lightweight construction problem and gain insights into both specific issues of the engineering profession and the overall context of lightweight construction.

 

Internship concept

The content of the internship week is divided into five independent units which build on each other and reflect the typical stages of component development in lightweight construction (see below). At each stage, the participants work on a small technical task of their own, such as adapting CAD designs or testing components. 3D component printing serves as an example.

Each unit is organized by an institute, which designs a daily program and task, such as step-by-step adaptation and recalculation of component designs.
The units interlock, so that the component designs are first recalculated, then 3D printed, and finally tested. The week ends with a presentation and discussion of the results with the participating scientists.

 

Next dates and contact

The last internship week took place between April 25-29, 2022. At the moment we are revising and expanding the content. As soon as the next date is fixed, you can register on this website.

If you have any questions, you can reach our organization team at leichtbau-bogy∂fast.kit.edu!

 

Bild FAST-LBT
Interplay of different engineering competencies in lightweight construction
Bild FAST-LBT
Internship concept across four institutes.
Bild KIT-wbk
Impressions
Bild FAST-LBT
Impressions
Bild FAST-LBT
Impressions
Bild KIT-wbk
Impressions
Bild IAM-WK
Impressions

BOGY-Woche "Leichtbau" am KIT

BildFAST-LBT
Thema

Gestiegenes Umweltbewusstsein und Ressourcenknappheit bei gleichzeitig hohen Ansprüchen an Sicherheit und Komfort ergeben einen Zielkonflikt für künftige Mobilität. Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Vereinbarkeit dieser Anforderungen liegt in der Gewichtsreduktion lasttragender Bauteile – ein Kerngedanke des Leichtbaus.

Im Idealfall nutzt dabei die Bauteil-konstruktion die mechanischen Material-eigenschaften optimal aus und lässt sich zudem einfach und fehlerfrei herstellen. Diese drei Felder gelungen zu vereinigen ist eine äußerst komplexe Aufgabe und erfordert Kompetenzen verschiedener Ingenieurdisziplinen.

Ziel der BOGY-Woche „Leichtbau“ ist es, Schülern die Spezifika und das Zusammenspiel beteiligter Ingenieurkompetenzen zu näherzubringen. In jedem Themengebiet bearbeiten die Teilnehmer*innen eigenständig eine technische Leichtbau-Problemstellung und gewinnen dabei sowohl Einblicke in spezifische Fragen des Ingenieurberufs als auch in den Gesamtkontext ‚Leichtbau ‘.

 

BOGY-Konzept

Die BOGY-Woche ist inhaltlich in fünf aufeinander aufbauende eigenständige Einheiten gegliedert, die die typische Stufen der Bauteilentwicklung im Leichtbau widerspiegeln (s.u.). Dabei bearbeiten die Teilnehmerinnen auf jeder Stufe eine eigene kleine technische Aufgabe, etwa Anpassung von CAD-Konstruktionen oder das Prüfen von Bauteilen. Als Beispiel dient das 3D-Bauteildrucken.

Jede Einheit wird von einem Institut organisiert, das ein Tagesprogramm und Aufgabenstellung entwirft, etwa schrittweise Anpassung und Nachrechnung von Bauteilentwürfen.
Die Einheiten greifen dabei ineinander, sodass die Bauteilentwürfe erst nachgerechnet, dann 3D-gedruckt und anschließend geprüft werden. Abgeschlossen wird die Woche von einer Ergebnispräsentation und -diskussion mit den beteiligten Wissenschaftlern.

 

Nächste Termine und Kontakt

Die letzte BOGY-Woche fand zwischen am 25.-29. April 2022 statt. Im Moment überarbeiten und erweitern wir die Inhalte. Sobald der nächste Termin feststeht, können Sie sich auf dieser Website anmelden.

Bei Fragen erreichen Sie unser Organisationsteam unter leichtbau-bogy∂fast.kit.edu!

 

 

 

 

Bild FAST-LBT
Zusammenspiel verschiedener Ingenieurkompetenzen im Leichtbau
Bild FAST-LBT
Bogy Konzept über vier Institute hinweg.
Bild KIT-wbk
Impressionen
Bild FAST-LBT
Impressionen
Bild FAST-LBT
Impressionen
Bild KIT-wbk
Impressionen
Bild IAM-WK
Impressionen