Our Profile

Division Lightweight Technology (LBT)

Lightweight design is positioned as a cross-sectional topic at the Institute of Vehicle Systems Technology (FAST) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. Research activities focus on technologies for reducing the weight of vehicles, with a focus on fiber composites in the context of monolithic as well as hybrid structures. With regard to application-oriented and market-relevant research, the LBT pursues two objectives:

Fig. 1: Holistic research and development of technologies to ensure maximum affordable lightweighting with high-performance fiber composites for large-scale production.

Fig. 2: Optimal utilization of the lightweight potential of semi-structural long fiber composites with maximum, best possible functional integration.

For the development of large-series, lightweight and high-performance fiber composites as well as hybrid components, it is essential to holisitcally apply competencies from the fields of methods, materials and production. This is the basis for the Methods-Materials-Production (MMP) approach. Against this background, FAST-LBT pursues a holistic engineering approach to lightweight design in close cooperation with the Department of Polymer Engineering (PE) of the Fraunhofer Institute for Chemical Technology (ICT), the Division for Hybrid Materials and Lightweight Design of the Institute for Applied Materials (KIT-IAM-WK) and further partners of the KIT Lightweight Design Network.

Fig. 3: To develop high-performance lightweight solutions which can be manufactured on an industrial scale, it is essential to concentrate and connect competences in the fields of Methods, Materials and Processes (MMP approach).

In the area of Method development (M), simulation methods and continuous virtual process chains (CAE chains) are developed at FAST-LBT for the virtual description of the manufacturing processes of long fiber and continuous fiber composite components. The CAE-chains allow to consider the complex interactions between component design, manufacturing, material properties and the resulting component behavior already in the early stages of product development. For this purpose, FAST-LBT develops material models and simulation methods for the different manufacturing process steps as well as for structural simulation. The manufacturing process steps include forming, molding (RTM, WCM, compression and injection molding, etc.), curing, cooling and distortion. Details on our research work are described under Research.

Fig. 4: Continuous virtual process chain for fiber-reinforced plastic components.

In the field of process and material development, FAST-LBT cooperates closely with the Fraunhofer ICT and the KIT-IAM-WK and conducts research on high-volume process technologies in the fields of SMC, LFT, injection molding, RTM, T-RTM, wet compression molding, tape laying, and fiber spraying. In particular, process-integrated material preparation and modification as well as automation and quality assurance of intrinsically and extrinsically hybridized fiber composite components are researched.

 

Your Contacts:

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Henning Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger
Head of the institute division

Deputy Head of the institute division &

Head of the YIG "Green Mobility"

Tel.: +49 721 608-45384 Tel.: +49 721 608-45386
frank.henning∂kit.edu luise.kaerger∂kit.edu

 

M.Sc. Nils Meyer M.Sc. Constantin Krauß
Topic coordinator for process simulation Topic coordinator for CAE chain and structure simulation
Tel.: +49 721 608-45385 Tel.: +49 721 608-45896
nils.meyer∂kit.edu constantin.krauss∂kit.edu

Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik - Institutsteil Leichtbautechnologie

Unser Profil

Institutsteil Leichtbautechnologie (LBT)

Das Thema Leichtbau ist am Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie als Querschnittthema positioniert. Im Mittelpunkt der Forschungsaktivitäten stehen Technologien zur Gewichtsreduktion von Fahrzeugen, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Faserverbundwerkstoffen im Kontext monolithischer als auch hybrider Strukturen. Hinsichtlich einer anwendungsnahen und marktrelevanten Forschung werden am LBT zwei Zielsetzungen verfolgt:

Abb. 1: Ganzheitliche Erforschung und Entwicklung von Technologien zur Sicherung des maximal bezahlbaren Leichtbaus mit Hochleistungsfaserverbunden für die Großserie.

Abb. 2: Optimale Nutzung des Leichtbaupotentials semistruktureller Langfaserverbunde mit maximaler, bestmöglicher Funktionsintegration.                                                   


Zur Entwicklung großserienfähiger, leichter und leistungsfähiger Faserverbunde sowie hybrider Bauteile ist es essentiell, Kompetenzen aus den Bereichen Methoden, Werkstoffe und Produktion zu vernetzen und ganzheitlich einzusetzen. Hieraus leitet sich der Methoden-Werkstoffe-Produktion Ansatz (MWP-Ansatz) ab. Vor diesem Hintergrund wird am LBT in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Abteilung Polymer Engineering (PE) des Fraunhofer Instituts für Chemische Technologie (ICT), der Abteilung für Hybride Werkstoffe und Leichtbau des Instituts für Angewandte Materialien (KIT-IAM-WK) und weiteren Partnern des KIT-Leichtbaunetzwerks ein ganzheitlicher ingenieurstechnischer Ansatz des Leichtbaus erarbeitet.
 

 

Abb. 3: Zur Entwicklung großserienfähiger, leichter und leistungsfähiger Faserverbund-Bauteile sowie hybrider Bauteile ist es essentiell, Kompetenzen aus den Bereichen Methoden, Werkstoffe und Produktion (MWP-Ansatz) zu bündeln und zu vernetzen.

Im Bereich der Methodenentwicklung (M) werden am FAST-LBT Simulationsmethoden und durchgängige virtuelle Prozessketten (CAE-Ketten) zur virtuellen Beschreibung der Herstellprozessketten von Langfaser- und Endlosfaserverbundbauteilen entwickelt. Die CAE-Ketten ermöglichen es, die komplexen Wechselwirkungen zwischen Bauteildesign, Bauteilherstellung, Werkstoffeigenschaften und dem daraus resultierenden Bauteilverhalten bereits in den frühen Phasen der Produktentwicklung zu berücksichtigen. Zu diesem Zweck werden am FAST-LBT auch die Methoden zur Simulation verschiedener Herstellprozessschritte und zur Struktursimulation erforscht und weiterentwickelt. Zu den betrachteten Herstellprozessschritten zählen Umformprozesse, Formfüllprozesse (RTM, Nasspressen, Fließpressen, Spritzgießen u.a.), Aushärtung, Abkühlung und Verzug. Details zu unseren Forschungsinhalten sind unter Forschung beschrieben.

Abb. 4: Durchgängige virtuelle Prozesskette für faserverstärkte Kunststoffbauteile.


Im Bereich der Prozess- und Werkstoffentwicklung arbeitet das FAST-LBT eng mit dem Fraunhofer ICT und dem KIT-IAM-WK zusammen und forscht an Großserientechnologien in den Bereichen SMC, LFT, Spritzgießen, RTM, T-RTM, Nasspressen, Tapelegen und Faserspritzen. Dabei werden insbesondere die prozessintegrierte Materialaufbereitung und -modifikation sowie die Automatisierung und Qualitätssicherung von intrinsisch und extrinsisch hybridisierten Faserverbundbauteilen erforscht.

 

Ihre Ansprechpartner:

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Henning Dr.-Ing. Luise Kärger
Leiter des Institutsteils
Stellvertretende Leiterin des Institutsteils &
Leitung der
YIG „Green Mobility“
Tel.: +49 721 608-45384 Tel.: +49 721 608-45386
frank.henning∂kit.edu luise.kaerger∂kit.edu

 

M.Sc. Nils Meyer M.Sc. Constantin Krauß
Themenfeldkoordinator für Prozesssimulation Themenfeldkoordinator für CAE-Kette und Struktursimulation
Tel.: +49 721 608-45385 Tel.: +49 721 608-45896
nils meyerIqt8∂kit edu constantin kraussBua1∂kit edu