BMWK Optifeed

  • Contact:

    Dipl.- Ing. Clemens Zimmerling

  • Funding:

    The project of the research association Forschungskuratorium Textil e.V. is funded via the AiF within the program for supporting the “Industrial Collective Research” (IGF) from funds of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Protection (BMWK).

  • Partner:

    KIT-FAST, ITA of RWTH Aachen

  • Startdate:

    10/21

  • Enddate:

    09/23

Time-efficient determination of suitable material feeding strategies for stamp-draping processes in fiber-reinforced plastics using machine learning techniques - Optifeed

BildFAST-LBT

Reduce costly process trials,
easy usability

In practice, fine-tuning a manufacturing process for defect-free component production requires numerous cost-intensive process trials. Numerical process simulations in combination with optimisation algorithms can help reduce expensive process trials, but require elaborate material testing, numerical expertise and long computing times. This reduces their attractiveness, especially for SMEs with limited access to powerful computing technology. The search for optimal manufacturing parameters is therefore often experiment- and experience-driven according to expert knowledge.

 

Better a good  early estimate early
than a precise optimisation result late

The increasing availability and user-friendliness of advanced machine learning techniques hints that this expert knowledge can be emulated with 'learning' algorithms. Comparable to an experienced expert, ML-algorithms can learn the relationship between geometry, process conditions and observed component quality from examples. Automated simulations allow to address an enormous range of different process examples to be taken into account and thus the process knowledge of many forming experts to be concentrated in a single algorithm.

BMWK Optifeed

  • Ansprechperson:

    Dipl.- Ing. Clemens Zimmerling

  • Förderung:

    Das Vorhaben wird durch das Forschungskuratorium Textil e.V. über die AiF im Rahmen der Industrielle Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz gefördert

  • Projektbeteiligte:

    KIT-FAST, ITA der RWTH Aachen

  • Starttermin:

    10/21

  • Endtermin:

    09/23

Zeiteffiziente Ermittlung geeigneter Materialzuführungsstrategien für Stempeldrapierprozesse bei Faserverbundkunststoffen mit Techniken des Maschinenlernens - Optifeed

BildFAST-LBT

Kostenintensive Prozessversuche reduzieren,
einfache Nutzbarkeit für Anwender

Die Feinabstimmung eines Fertigungsprozesses zur fehlerfreien Bauteilfertigung erfordert in der Praxis zahlreiche kostenintensive Prozessversuche. Numerische Prozesssimulationen in Kombination mit Optimierungsalgorithmen können helfen, teure Prozessversuche zu reduzieren, erfordern jedoch aufwendige Materialprüfungen, numerische Expertise und lange Rechenzeiten. Dies schmälert ihre Attraktivität, insbesondere für KMU mit eingeschränktem Zugriff auf leistungsfähige Rechentechnik. Die Suche nach optimalen Fertigungsparametern geschieht daher häufig versuchs- und erfahrungsgetrieben nach Expertenwissen.

 

Besser früh eine gute Abschätzung
als spät ein präzises Optimierungsergebnis

Die zunehmende Verfügbarkeit und Nutzerfreundlichkeit fortgeschrittener Techniken des Maschinenlernens legt nahe, dieses Expertenwissen mit ‚lernenden‘ Algorithmen nachzubilden. Vergleichbar einem erfahrenen Experten erlernt ein Algorithmus den Zusammenhang zwischen Geometrie, Prozessbedingungen und beobachteter Bauteilqualität aus Beispielen (Abbildung oben). Automatisierte Simulationen erlauben dabei, enorme Umfänge unterschiedlicher Prozessbeispiele zu berücksichtigen und so das Prozesswissen vieler Umformexperten in einem einzelnen Algorithmus zu konzentrieren.

 

Für weitere Details schauen Sie gern in unsere Projektskizze oder schreiben uns direkt an!